City of Colorado Springs / Fire / News

Colorado Springs Fire Department Announces 2013 Award Winners
Monday, February 10, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO.—The Colorado Springs Fire Department is proud to announce its award winners for 2013. Award winners were officially recognized at an Annual Awards Ceremony held Jan31st. Award winners, name of award and award description are listed below. Biographies of the top four award winners are also provided.

Firefighter of the Year – Firefighter Ian Elliott

Presented annually to a firefighter who has performed exemplary service.

Firefighter Elliott is an integral member of the Heavy Rescue program at Fire Station 17.  Ian is on the path to becoming the department’s nationally certified swift water instructor.  After the flash flooding events in 2013, he took the initiative to educate himself on the dangers of flash flooding and resulting debris flows.  Ian gathered a large amount of information from nationally renowned industry experts and used this knowledge to develop educational presentations.  He taught classes for both the Colorado Springs Police Department and Colorado Springs Utilities to educate them and help them educate citizens when involved in such events.  Ian also participated in the development of public service announcements to further educate citizens.  Ian is described as dependable, hardworking, passionate and enthusiastic. 

Civilian of the Year – Fire Accreditation Technician Candy Fontecchio

(First year for this award) - Presented annually to a civilian who has performed exemplary service.

Candy is the support staff for the two Deputy Chiefs.  She manages and provides all administrative support to these two and does so very effectively and efficiently with a solid work ethic and dedication to excellence.  Candy is the designated Accreditation Manager for the CSFD, which involves managing a very extensive self-assessment process of all aspects of the department.  This was a tremendous workload, which Candy took on with enthusiasm, and resulted in the department becoming internationally accredited in March, 2013.  Since then, she continues to manage this ongoing process.  Candy is also a key member of the Awards and Recognition Committee, ensuring that members and citizens are properly recognized through several events throughout the year.  Her supervisor describes her as the ultimate “behind-the-scenes” person with a great positive attitude. 

Medal of Distinguished Service – Captain Jayme McConnellogue

Presented for outstanding and extraordinary service to the department and/or to the public safety of the community, brings recognition to the fire department in a positive and proactive manner.

Captain McConnellogue has been involved in several major initiatives that have had a significant impact on fire operations, including the Truck Company program, the Vent, Enter, Isolate, Search (VEIS) tactic, and forcible entry training.  Jayme is the program coordinator for the CSFD Peer Support program, working with our partners at UCCS to provide this valuable resource for CSFD employees.  She is also the manager of the Do The Right Thing program, a program aimed at educating high school students on the dangers of distracted driving.  Jayme has shown great leadership, dedication and a commitment to excellence in every position she has been assigned.  Her co-workers describe her as having strong character, determination, integrity, passion for the job, and an undying desire to always do the right thing. 

Medal of Distinguished Service – Paramedic Jeremy Kroto

Presented for outstanding and extraordinary service to the department and/or to the public safety of the community, brings recognition to the fire department in a positive and proactive manner.

Paramedic Kroto is an outstanding mentor and paramedic preceptor and he has been involved in the implementation of nozzle forward training.  As the president of IAFF Local #5, Jeremy is a dedicated representative of the firefighters and is committed to helping the CSFD provide the best and most efficient service to the community.  He works tirelessly to ensure excellent relationships and communication.  Jeremy has worked many years ensuring that the Fallen Firefighters Memorial is a successful event that has a positive impact on the community.  Jeremy is also involved with the annual MDA fundraiser and has actively worked with ReGrow Colorado, a project that helped replant thousands of trees in the Waldo Canyon Fire burn area. 

Chief’s Award – Human Resources Manager Angela Hines

Presented annually and is nominated by the Battalion Chiefs.  This prestigious award is presented to an individual or work group who demonstrates the highest degree of excellence (professionalism, quality and innovation).  Also, for employees who develop new, innovative programs which clearly enhance the mission of the department.  His/her performance result in improved operations, outstanding community service and/or substantial savings in organizational costs.

Unit of the Year – CSFD Accreditation Team (Deputy Chief Steve Dubay, Fire Accreditation Technician Candy Fontecchio, Human Resources Generalist Cassie Beckey)

Presented to the unit who has performed exemplary service as a team to their program and/or station, the department and community. 

Award of Recognition – Captain Ed Breece

                                        A/V Specialist Steve Schopper

                                        Driver Engineer Bryan Lynch

                                        Driver Engineer Ian Bruzenak

                                        Paramedic Kevin Apuron

                                        Paramedic Kris Johnson

                                        Driver Engineer Nick Chapel

                                        Firefighter Jefferson Martin

Presented for accomplishments, including outstanding achievements, initiates a new program performs a specific action, contribution to the mission, goals and objectives of the fire department and/or outstanding public service. 

Life Rescue - Captain Tim Dragosh

                       Firefighter Michael Romano

                       Lieutenant Rick Schmidt

                       Driver Engineer Don Vander Linden

                       Firefighter Nate Raulie

                       Firefighter Devin Smith

                       Paramedic Jason Veit

                       Firefighter Eric Riker

                       Lieutenant Mike Evers

                       Driver Engineer Jason McFerran

                       Lieutenant Will Polk

                       Driver Engineer Daniel Knox

                       Paramedic Jason Clowe

                       Firefighter Donald Thurnherr

                       Lieutenant Mark Romero

                       Driver Engineer T.J. Bopp

                       Firefighter Nicholas Cruz

                       Firefighter Derek Smith

                       Driver Engineer Neil Raedel

                       Firefighter Luke Magistrelli

Presented to a member or members of the CSFD for a life rescuing act that demonstrates a commitment to community and dedication to our main priority of preserving lives.  This awards the self-sacrifice of the CSFD members as they perform their jobs at a risk to themselves in an effort to protect others.