City of Colorado Springs / Mayor's Office / News

Swearing In Ceremony for new CSFD Chief Chris Riley
Tuesday, September 10, 2013

TODAY during the Regular Meeting of City Council, Chris Riley will be sworn in as the new Chief of the Colorado Springs Fire Department by Mayor Steve Bach. This ceremony will take place during the “Mayor’s Business” portion of the Council Meeting Agenda and should occur at approximately 1:30pm.

“Chief Riley’s years in the fire service, including extensive all-hazards and wildland experience and seven years as the Fire Chief in Pueblo, will be a tremendous asset to our community,” said Mayor Bach.

Chief Riley brings 32 years of experience to the Colorado Springs Fire Department including: command, emergency and fire/rescue operations, wildland/urban interface and structural firefighting, and emergency medical services. 

MEDIA NOTE: Due to the flexible nature of a Council Meeting’s schedule, outlets interested in covering the swearing in ceremony should arrive at City Hall by 1:00pm. To schedule interviews with Chief Riley, please contact Sunny Smaldino at 385-7377.

Biography of Chief Chris Riley

Chief Chris Riley began his fire service career in Southern California and worked his way through the ranks to Chief Officer. As a Chief Officer, he has worked in multiple capacities while overseeing several diverse divisions and programs.

In 2006, he was appointed as Fire Chief with the City of Pueblo Fire Department. Chief Riley earned his Master’s degree in Emergency Services Administration, graduating with honors from California State University, Long Beach. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Vocation Education and an Associate of Science degree in Fire Science. In 2004, Riley earned the distinguished Chief Fire Officer designation through the Center of Public Safety Excellence. He is the current Chair of the Professional Development Committee for the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) and the past President of the IAFC Missouri Valley Division as well as the past President of the Colorado State Fire Chiefs.