City of Colorado Springs / City Council / News

City Council confirms Mayor's Appointees to...

Colorado Springs Health Foundation Board of Trustees

At the formal City Council meeting on Tuesday, March 12, City Council confirmed Mayor Bach’s selections to serve on the volunteer Board of Trustees for the Colorado Springs Health Foundation. The nine trustees are: Kathy Boe, Deborah Chandler, Lynette Crow-Iverson, Phil Lane, David Lord, Zack McComsey, Jon Medved, BJ Scott, and Thayer Tutt. The City Attorney will also serve as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Foundation. The trustees were selected from over 20 highly qualified professionals by a panel consisting of City Councilors Merv Bennet and Brandy Williams, Chief of Staff Laura Neumann and Director of Human Resources Mike Sullivan.

“These nine trustees have the expertise, knowledge and dedication to serve our community very well,” says Mayor Steve Bach. 

In accordance with the By-Laws, the initial Board of Trustees will adopt staggered terms in the initial appointments.  Three Trustees have 1-year terms, 3 Trustees have 2-year terms, 3 Trustees have 3-years terms.  All subsequent terms after the initial term for all Trustees would be for 3 years.  Council Member Merv Bennet and Mayor Bach jointly determined the terms for each of the nine appointees.

About the Trustees:

Kathy Boe – 3-year term

  • Founder and CEO of Boecore, Inc., a Department of Defense company specializing in Engineering and Information Technology.
  • Kathy has non-profit experience and board leadership skills currently serving as trustee for Pikes Peak United Way and has served as a founding member and Vice President of Rocky Mountain Women in Defense.

Debbie Chandler – 2-year term

  • Debbie is Executive Vice President and CEO of Colorado Springs Health Partners and former CEO of Anchor Health Centers, Naples, Florida and Orlando Heart Center in Florida.
  • She has a Masters in Business Administration and a minor in Nuclear Medicine with over 30 years’ experience in healthcare delivery.
  • Debbie’s Board experience includes serving on the Colorado Springs Regional Business Alliance Board, Colorado Springs Regional Economic Development Board, a Memorial Hospital Board Member and a founding member of the Region 7 Medicaid Regional Care Coordinating Organization – Central Colorado Community Care.

Lynette Crow-Iverson – 2-year term

  • Lynette is Founder, President and CEO of Conspire! and HealthQuest Medical Services, Inc.
  • Lynette has served as a Board Member for the Colorado Springs Conservatory, American Heart Association of Pikes Peak, Safe 2 Tell and the Chamber of Commerce Health Care Council.

Phil Lane – 2-year term

  • Phil’s community involvement includes volunteering on a number of boards such as Operation 6035 and Regional Leadership Forum, the Nature Conservancy Colorado Board of Trustees and the YMCA Board of Directors.
  • Phil also served on the Memorial Hospital Task Force and has firsthand knowledge regarding the details of the lease and the concepts behind the Foundation.

David Lord – 1-year term

  • Volunteer Executive Director of Innovations in Aging Collaboration, an initiative to address issues regarding our senior population.
  • David has served on a long list of non-profit Boards and believes this has provided him a strong background in best practices for Board leadership.
  • His Board experience includes the Chair of the Peak Vista Community Health Center Foundation Board, Chair of the Rollins College Board of Trustees and Vice Chair of the Colorado Springs Downtown Development Authority.

Zachary McComsey – 1-year term

  • Zach is Founder and Executive Director of the Atlas Preparatory School.
  • Zach has served on the Board of Directors for the Colorado Springs Assets for Youth and participated in a Fellowship at El Pomar Foundation.

Jon Medved – 3-year term

  • Jon serves on the Board of Directors for Chef’s Catalog and previously was the President and CEO.
  • Additionally, he is presently on the G.E. Johnson Construction Company Advisory Board, National Association of Corporate Directors, Wells Fargo Bank Community Board, Nehring Associates Advisory Board and Woodford Manufacturing Board of Directors.
  • Jon has served on 14 non-profit boards, 9 of which he was named Chair or Vice Chair, 7 corporate boards, 2 trade association boards and as a trustee on 4 foundation boards.

BJ Scott – 1-year term

  • BJ is the founding Board Member and Executive Director of the Peak Vista Community Health Centers Foundation and formerly President and CEO of the Peak Vista Community Health Centers.
  • She is currently a member of a number of organizations including co-founder of Innovations in Aging Collaborative, a board member of the Colorado Springs Leadership Institute and Colorado Senate Appointee as Colorado Congressional District 5 Commissioner.

Thayer Tutt – 3-year term

  • Thayer is President and Chief Investment Officer and Trustee of the El Pomar Foundation.
  • He brings a unique perspective on both the work of a foundation and the importance of quality healthcare.
  • Thayer’s 30 years of financial experience and insight will provide disciplined management of the Foundation’s assets for the present and future benefit of our City.
  • Thayer serves on a variety of non-profit boards locally, regionally and nationally.
  • Thayer served as co-founder of the Center for Non-Profit Excellence and Colorado Springs Leadership Institute.
  • Additionally, he has served as Chairman on the Penrose Hospital Board.


The City of Colorado Springs entered into a lease of the operations of Memorial Health System to University of Colorado Health (UCH) effective October 1, 2012. In connection therewith, the City has established the Colorado Springs Health Foundation for the purpose of receiving, holding and managing all funds received under the lease and, subject to any obligations under the lease and related instruments, making grants or distributions of funds for the purpose of addressing health issues in the City and Memorial Health System service area.

The affairs of the Colorado Springs Health Foundation will be directed and managed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. Trustees will be nominated by the Mayor and appointed by a majority of the members of City Council. These are volunteer positions.