City of Colorado Springs / City Council / News

Council Attends Luncheon Honoring Local Heroes

Councilmember Merv BennettCity Council was honored to attend today’s 27th Annual Medal of Valor luncheon held at the Broadmoor Hotel.

The luncheon, sponsored by the Police Foundation of Colorado Springs, honored 20 police officers and highlighted the extraordinary efforts by these men and women who protect the people of Colorado Springs.

The foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to aiding the Colorado Springs Police Department through funding, resources, promoting excellence within the department and improving public safety for the city of Colorado Springs by providing resources not otherwise readily available from traditional sources.

photo of medals in caseThis year’s medal recipients are:

Medal of Valor Recipients

  • Sgt. David Gilman
  • Officer Dale Peterson
  • Officer Geri Pring
  • Officer Matthew Davis
  • Officer Richard Hallman
  • Officer Carlos Sandoval
  • Officer Robert Wolf
  • Officer Marcus Van Ooyen
  • Officer Chris Mace
  • Officer Joe Richardson
  • Officer Dale Lucky
  • Officer Paul Vandel
  • Officer Jason Ragland
  • Officer Jim Carson
  • Officer Juergen Parks
  • Officer Mark Keller

 Distinguished Service Medal

  • Sergeant Angelo Butierres
  • Officer Kyle Vanderlinden
  • Sergeant Roger Vargason
  • Officer Brian Kelly

Visit our Facebook page for more event photos.