City of Colorado Springs / Commissions & Committees / Public Safety Sales Tax Oversight Committee

Wednesday, February 05, 2014

Public Safety Sales Tax Oversight Committee Meeting

Wednesday, February 5, 2014


Committee members in attendance:

Winfield Pate, Edward Carroll, Dan Mullin, Brian Grady, Debbie Klisch, Jake Jacob. 

Committee members absent:  Tim Cassibry, Glen Florea, Bernie Herpin, Ron Ruckdeschel, Marjorie Smith.

Others present:    Deputy Chief Steve Dubay (CSFD), Deputy Chief Mark Smith (CSPD), Sue Autry (CSPD), Leslie Hickey (CSFD), Ken Hughlett (OEM), Teri Stebbins (CSFD)

Call to Order:  Dan Mullin called the meeting to order at 4:35 pm.

Citizen Comment:   No citizen comment.

Approval of Minutes:

MOTION:  Minutes from October 9, 2013 meeting were reviewed but not approved due to lack of a quorum.

Business and Updates:  

Election of committee officers was deferred to the next meeting. Debbie Klisch volunteered for vice chair. Tim Cassibry is resigning from committee and will not be available to return as Chair. Dan Mullin was nominated as chair. W. Pate seconded the motion. Final approval of the officers will be completed at the April 2nd Meeting.  It was also noted that Bernie Herpin will return to the committee later in the year. 

Welcome to Teri Stebbins who will be replacing Ken Hughlett as the liaison to the Public Safety Sales Tax Oversight Committee.

Updates including budget changes (Budget, Fire, and Police):

CSFD – Update:  Leslie Hickey, Finance, Planning, & Analysis Manager for CSFD presented the November 2013 budget results which showed the positive direction for 2013. PSST collections reports are available on the city web for further review.  Leslie will provide and update on whether there was a fund balance draw included in 2014 budget. The totals presented include encumbrance and expenses together. 

New PSST funded positions in IT, Facilities, and Wildland are included in the 2014 budget. CSFD staff members are reviewing proposals for various options for using $2.4 million that was originally allocated for the FDC renovation project.  As soon as the reviews are complete, staff will bring recommendations to the committee in a future meeting.   Station 22 construction is expected to start in 2014, but the station may not open in 2014. PSST funds will not be used for the construction, but may be used for outfitting the station. Staffing not yet determined. OEM reports to Chief of Staff, Steve Cox. Leslie will provide the committee an update on OEM expenses that impact PSST at the next meeting. Leslie also announced the promotion of Ted Collas as Deputy Chief. The Promotional ceremony will be held on February 14 at 3:00 p.m.

CSPD – Update:   Deputy Chief Smith explained that Community Service Officers (CSO) are being tasked to handle minor traffic vehicle accidents so priorities are handled by police officers. CSO are also providing non-uniformed assistance in metro narcotics, bombs unit and major crimes. They are part-time without benefits.  The police department also utilized more than 58,000 hours for volunteer time in 2013.

CSPD is currently working on E-citation (electronic tickets). Chief Smith outlined testing and training programs for officers on the E-citation process.   The local courts have accepted the new process. CSPD is expecting full implementation by Fall 2014.

Members Discussion: Brian Grady was introduced.

Next meeting date, April 2, 2014


The meeting ended at 6:30 pm.

Notes:  The minutes of the meeting were taken by T. Stebbins.  Any omissions or corrections should be brought to the Chairperson’s attention at the next PSSTOC meeting.